Red Hot Chili Peppers @The O2, London

Legends In The Flesh

After waiting for what seemed like a lifetime I finally saw the legendary Red Hot Chilli Peppers, who are, let’s be honest, the best rock-band of our time.

When the Red Hot Chili Peppers announced their London show, there was absolutely nothing that could have stopped me from going, because I genuinely Can’t Stop loving them. Even though I usually prefer small venues to arenas, I had the best time at the O2 Arena. Once again, early queueing is more than worth it. When I got to the O2 at around 1pm I expected the line to be huge, but there was a mere 30 people in front of me. After spending almost 6 hours in the cold, the doors finally opened and I managed to get a spot in the second row right in front of where Anthony Kiedis was going to stand.

When the supporting act started I did not know what to expect, because I had never heard of Babymetal. And when they came on stage, I will let you know, I was TERRIFIED. After enduring 40 minutes of Japanese Heavy Metal, being caught between two mosh pits, with a stranger head-banging against me, the Red Hot Chilli Peppers finally came on.

For a solid minute, I just stood there in absolute awe, unable to comprehend that I was looking at Flea, Josh Klinghoffer and Chad Smith in real life. When Anthony Kiedis finally came on I completely lost it. This man for me is more than just a lead singer, he is a legend. I had read his autobiography multiple times and I’m just generally very intrigued by him as a musician and human being.

In front of an ecstatic crowd, the band started their set with one of their biggest hits, Can’t Stop and I don’t think there are many songs that can get a crowd going like this one. During the entire set, there was not a single moment where I felt let down or disappointed.   Their lights and video projections were magical and really added to the atmosphere of the whole concert. They played a lot of their big hits, including Califonication, Dani California and By The Way , which of course made the crowd go absolutely mental. They also played a couple of songs from their new album The Getaway including Sick Love and the first single they released from their latest album: Dark Necessities.

Both old and new songs were incredible live. Everything about their performance was genuine and as a spectator and devoted fan I could see that they put all of their hearts into it. A band like the Red Hot Chilli Peppers who have existed for such a long time (since 1983), really shows that real music still exists and that musicians like them dedicate their entire life to it without ever giving up.

When they went off stage after the last song I could not believe that it was already over, but of course they returned for an encore. The very last song they played was Give It Away and it is hard to describe how crazy the audience went. I quite possibly almost broke a rib with the weight of thousands of people pressed up against me, jumping up and down, but even if I had gotten hurt it would have been a small price to pay for the incredible experience that I had.

Sometimes, when you wait to see an artist for a very long time your expectations become too big for them to fulfil. Even though I was never worried about that with the Red Hot Chili Peppers, I can’t repeat enough how much they exceeded my expectations. For me, they will forever be the greatest rock-band on earth, and I feel incredibly privileged to have been able to see them, to have stood 15 feet away from a man who is a real life legend.

anthony-kiedis-edited

(Yes, this is how close I was.)
Leave a Reply

