The 1975 @O2 Academy Brixton/ The 1975 @Zenith Munich

Different crowds, queuing early and the struggle of your favourite bands becoming famous

I’ve attended two The 1975 shows  over the past month and even though they played the exact same set, the gigs were completely different. The first key difference was the atmosphere and the crowd. As someone who moved to London from Germany, I would have been the last person to believe that a German crowd at a concert could be more fun than a London audience, but I was wrong. While the audience in Brixton mostly consisted of young fangirls screaming so loud that I couldn’t hear a single note the first song “Love Me”, the audience in Munich was laid back and seemed to actually try to appreciate the music. I must say that the crowd in Brixton almost ruined the concert for me, because I couldn’t move and there was inexplicable aggression between the fans. I was genuinely shocked when a girl in front of me refused to move so security guards could get through to a girl who was having a serious panic attack. I recently read an article about The 1975 fans and how, supposedly, there is such a strong sense of community and friendship. Being in midst of the fangirls that identify as the ones who this article was about, I realised that that is far from the truth. A sense of community means helping someone up when they fall rather than shoving your elbow into someone’s face because you’re afraid of losing your spot. At yesterday’s gig in Munich the audience seemed more mature and everyone treated each other with respect and helped if help was needed.

I strongly believe that this atmosphere also influenced the band’s performance immensely. The Brixton show that I attended was the last one that they played and it was noticeable that the band was exhausted, but how couldn’t they have been? Even though Matty did interact with the fans at the show in Brixton, in Munich he seemed to be more relaxed. While they were playing “Loving Someone”a fan threw a rainbow flag on stage and inspired Matty to gove a little speech about the people who do not have the same freedoms that we have and dedicated the next song to the millions of  people who are suffering while we are at a concert, the ultimate representation of a free society. Those unplanned moments are what makes a show special, because music ,of course, is the main part of a gig, but genuine human interaction is also a vital component.

The 1975  are my favourite band and as someone who always wants to be in the front row, I decided to queue up early for the show in Brixton. I got there at around 11 and got a wristband with the number 37 on it. Even though it was cold and it was rainy and the screaming girls around me were anything but ideal company, it was the best thing I could have done. A few hours guarantee you a good spot and for me a good spot is what makes a concert worthwhile. Some people say that being in the middle of the crowd is a different but unique experience I personally prefer being at the front by far. Unfortunately, I couldn’t queue early for the show in Munich, so I ended up in the middle of the crowd. I had never been this far back at any concert I’ve ever been to (I was still in the first 1/4 of the crowd at least) and even though I had a great time and it was an amazing show I really wish I could have spent a few hours queuing because it would have been more than worth it.

In  Germany, The 1975 are not nearly as big as they are in the UK and as someone who has been listening to their music for years it was nice being in a crowd who loves their music and enjoys their shows rather than being surrounded by a strange fangirl crowd who, I personally think, are too young to even be at a show for a band like The 1975. Of course, every fan wants their favourite band to become successful, but it is hard seeing people at the shows who would never ever be there if that band wasn’t considered as “cool” by their friends.

Even though my comments on the Brixton show might seem harsh and negative, the show was amazing, the band did a great job, but a more relaxed crowd would have made it even better. I wish people didn’t sacrifice their opportunity to dance and have a fun time for being a few inches closer to the stage by trying to push forward.

Leave a Reply

